Quit Day – 12:30 pm

Just back from haircut and first thing I noticed when I entered my house is that it smells like an ashtray.  Smokers lose their sense of smell, especially of nicotine/smoke on clothes, in cars, etc., but apparently it returns pretty quickly…or I could be hallucinating.  I opened doors/windows since it’s so nice out.  It reminds me I should get my car washed, too, to get rid of the crap on the windows and that smell.

I had some breakfast before I go for Lozenge #2 (it’s like swimming, you’re supposed to wait 15 minutes after eating before taking one).  I like the straws much better than toothpicks (big Mickey D straws cut in half); they much more realistically approximate the size and shape of a ‘rette, including how you hold them.

Some anxiety and restlessness, but nothing terrible…yet.  I think I’m a few hours away from worse withdrawal symptoms.  It’s been about 14 hours now, but most of that was sleep.

4 Responses to “Quit Day – 12:30 pm”

  1. Tricia Says:

    Dear Steven,
    IS THIS AN APRIL FOOLS PRANK?????
    Sincerely,
    your lungs

  2. John K Says:

    Eventually, you’ll really dislike that ashtray smell on your clothes, etc.
    The toughest for me was breaking those psychological links between ciggies and other behaviors. If I had a beer or drink, I had to have a cig. I basically had to quit drinking for six months in order to break that link. You know… done eating > light up, and so on. I imagine they talked about breaking those links in the program(?).
    The straws helped me… chewed the hell out of them.
    Re Palpatine: The resemblance is definitely there.

  3. jerseyyankee Says:

    Thanks, John. Yeah, the associated habits are tough. I don’t drink anymore so for me the worst part will be, and was today, morning coffee. By logging my ‘rettes over the past 10 days as part of the program, I found I smoke about a third of the day’s total in the first few waking hours and I know the caffeine is a big reason. I also know you can’t quit more than one bad habit at a time, so I’ll just have to work thru that for now.

  4. jerseyyankee Says:

    Thanks, John. Yeah, the associated habits are tough. I don’t drink anymore so for me the worst part will be, and was today, morning coffee. By logging my ‘rettes over the past 10 days as part of the program, I found I smoke about a third of the day’s total in the first few waking hours and I know the caffeine is a big reason. I also know you can’t quit more than one bad habit at a time, so I’ll just have to work thru that for now.

Leave a Reply

