Day 6 – 11 am

It’s been getting a little better every day.  When I started this, I wasn’t sure I could go more than a few hours w/o smoking, much less a day, much less multiple days.   Lozenges and straws continue to help get through the tough moments.

It’s weird:  you want to be little proud of the accomplishment, but there really is no end point.  Any moment, any day, I could go right back to it.  You start to think maybe I’s be OK if I just had one with morning coffee and after each meal; maybe I could just smoke 4 or 5 a day, maybe that would be alright.  Thankfully, I know better; it doesn’t stop me from thinking it, but I know better. 

4 Responses to “Day 6 – 11 am”

  1. John K Says:

    Please be proud of what you’ve accomplished so far. I am. Think how you’re getting a little healthier each day. Think of the money you’re saving. We ex-smokers aren’t much different than any ex-addicts. Even when you think you’ve kicked it, you can’t try even one.
    It should get a tiny bit easier each day. Hang in there, old friend.

  2. jerseyyankee Says:

    Actually, not different at all. It’s hard for people to believe, but addiction experts say nicotine, and more specifically the smoking habit, is as hard to kick as anything up to and including heroin. Thanks again for your ongoing support.

  3. Meghan Merriman Says:

    I find I am actually looking forward to your blog each day! Dont minimize your accomplishments thus far You are doing great like you said last week you couldny imagine a cup of coffee without a cigarette and you have gone days By the way I was looking for some commentary on the game last night So close

  4. jerseyyankee Says:

    Glad to hear it, Meg. I’m writing for myself and pretending anyone is reading it. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

